Budapest

Hi friends.  I have a new favorite song.  It’s “Budapest” by George Ezra.  I would insert it here but I’ve kind of forgotten how, what with my prolonged absence, and i-pads are quirky about using photos and music, so it would be a lot quicker for you to google it.  I like the Saturday Night Live version on You Tube.  It’s not the official video, but it is the better one;  the live one where you connect with the artist who is young, talented, and thrilled to be doing his thing.  Every once in awhile he smiles at someone in the audience and you wonder…does he know that person?  Is it someone special?  A muse, perhaps?   Is he in love?  The sparkle in his eye and the innocent smile say it all.  I’m so entranced by this song and his huge talent combined with his youth that I feel a little like a vampire…..it’s like I want to suck all that exuberance from him and claim it as my own.  I want to live forever.  Honestly, I’m not even sure what the lyrics say, but they make me nostalgic for something I can’t name.  I love that feeling.  Do you know the one I mean?  It encompasses a lot of possibility-the idea that if I could just drill down to the one thing that would complete me, then surely it is within my grasp.

I hope you are all doing well.

Chicken out

  13 comments for “Budapest

  1. Judith Blacquier
    October 28, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    good one, chicken.
    miss you !!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug in Oakland
    October 28, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    Yay! The Chicken posted again! I haven’t heard the song yet, but I promise that I will burn up some data and listen to it later. I did read the lyrics, though.

    Like

    • October 29, 2015 at 9:45 am

      Hi Doug-And what did you think of the lyrics?

      Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        October 29, 2015 at 6:56 pm

        I liked them. I actually did listen to the song, but it was the official music video version. Is the SNL version online for viewing? I also read the wikipedia page about it. It seems to have been written in response to a train missed due to a hangover…

        Like

      • October 29, 2015 at 11:43 pm

        Huh…that wouldn’t have been my guess. Train missed because beautiful soul mate person rode by on bicycle distracting hungover artist, perhaps..so..in this version,the train is what he would give it all up for? Kind of sucks the steaminess out of the whole thing, doesn’t it? Although trains can be quite steamy, I suppose…I’m rambling aren’t I? No, it’s okay, you can say it. You wouldn’t be the first.

        Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        October 30, 2015 at 1:44 am
      • November 7, 2015 at 3:23 am

        Ah so it was a love song, not about trains. Still, I’d like to see Budapest. And write a love song among my many artifacts.

        Like

  3. October 28, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    “…nostalgic for something I can’t name.” My Portuguese heritage confirms you have come close to defining Saudade.

    Like

    • October 29, 2015 at 9:47 am

      Hi Geo-is that anything like Deja vu? I will go look it up. Tout Suite. ha. What does that even mean? #googleit

      Like

    • October 29, 2015 at 9:52 am

      Geo, Saudade is my new favorite word. The pronunciation surprised me. I love saying it. So-DAH-duh. Is that the way you say it?

      Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        October 29, 2015 at 7:01 pm

        When I saw the word Saudade, it flashed me to a memory of a cassette tape my friend Marcus made for me with that word as a song title. I thought it must be a Chameleons song, because he made me a tape of their first album, but I was wrong. It was from Love and Rockets, who he put on the other side of the tape…

        Like

      • October 29, 2015 at 11:45 pm

        You know a lot about music. I have a strong memory of a cassette I made of Hootie and the Blowfish. And also one of Bruce Springsteen. Not even early Bruce Springsteen. Like, late 80’s Bruce Springsteen.

        Like

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

