Friday Class

Good morning, Class.

Good morning, Mrs. Chicken

Today let us discuss the word, “Friday”.  Wikipedia reports that the word Friday is thought to have come from the Latin, dies generis, or Day of Venus.  In the Greek language, however, the word for Friday is Paraskevi, which is derived from a word meaning ‘to prepare’ and this is thought to be a religious reference meaning that Friday is a day best spent preparing for the Sabbath.  (Wikipedia)

That’s all well and good, and the rabbit hole I’ll go down later will explain what Friday and Venus have to do with each other, but for now I want to know what Friday means to you.  How does Friday play out in your life?

In my world, Friday means the opposite of “to prepare”.  It means extra time in the morning because I don’t have to pack lunch for littleb.  In our school system Friday is pizza day and littleb never misses an opportunity to eat pizza.  Also, because we practice, “Junk Food Friday” religiously and eat pizza for dinner, I am not called upon to cook dinner or clean afterwards. Finally, Friday in our house is also Stay Up Late Night because there is no need to rush in the morning, which can also be translated into “have a glass of wine, put your feet up, and binge watch HGTV if that’s what appeals to you.  If you put it all together, I guess you could say Friday stands for “Chicken’s Day of Rest”.

It never lasts long enough.

Chicken out

  11 comments for “Friday Class

  1. jenny_o
    June 17, 2016 at 6:12 pm

    Friday (also know as Fried-Day, becauese we feel fried by that point in the week) at the Donkey household is much like yours – pizza for supper, no meetings after work, no need to rush on Saturday morning. It would be nice to have more than one Friday in the week, wouldn’t it?

    Like

    • June 17, 2016 at 9:59 pm

      Fried Day haha. That could also apply to us but only from a fried food perspective because around a bout 4 PM on Fridays I notice a little pick up in my pick up and I start to feel downright skippy.

      Like

  2. Doug in Oakland
    June 17, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    Let’s see: Friday is the day the Professional Left podcast comes out, but several of my favorite webcomics don’t publish on Friay, having put their Friday comics up Thursday night. When you don’t have a job to deal with, the weekend loses some of its appeal. By the way, which Bob Marley song were you reminded of by my LBBB?

    Like

    • Doug in Oakland
      June 17, 2016 at 6:18 pm

      Oops, I left the “d” out of Friday, how could I be so sloppy?

      Like

      • June 17, 2016 at 9:57 pm

        Doug-I think Friay is Norse for Friday. You’d probably rather be working but I’d like to have a summer off, paid of course, just to remember what it feels like when Friday and Saturday are just days of the week and on Sunday you don’t care if the laundry doesn’t get done because you can always do it tomorrow. The 3 little birds song-Don’t Worry. Bout a thing. Cause every little thing. Gonna Be All Right. Yeah Mon

        Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        June 17, 2016 at 10:31 pm

        I knew that. What was I thinking? Evidence points toward “Doug wasn’t thinking at all.” Should I deny it? If so, why? So many damn questions when you stop thinking even for a minute…

        Like

      • June 18, 2016 at 12:30 am

        It boggles the mind, doesn’t it? Oh well, at least it’s the weekend. Weekends were made for this stuff.

        Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        June 18, 2016 at 2:02 am

        Just to make my Friday special, there’s a wild, red canary right outside the front door singing away to impress his girlfriend… Briana tried to get a picture, I’ll tell you if it comes out when we enlarge it…

        Liked by 1 person

      • June 18, 2016 at 12:34 pm

        Is that bird’s name Mary ANN by any chance? 🙂

        Like

  3. June 18, 2016 at 6:33 am

    When our kids grew up I was still working as a gardener, so I parsed out my 20 days vacation and 10 days personal necessity to 30 Wednesdays per year and did so for 5 years before retiring. That made Friay –which is a misspelling to some, but to me it meant Friday plurally demystified every week– no more humpday, 2 Fridays a week. My aging body needed it. Gardening 50 densely planted acres is hard work in a posh neighborhood. They didn’t care if I fell down dead out there –which I did several times. Just glad I had a union that helped make it legal to age. 2009 I called in old and haven’t gone back. For me, Friay is every day one needs to remember oneself and I don’t care how it’s spelled. Did I mention I’m pro-union?

    Like

    • June 18, 2016 at 12:45 pm

      I’m glad you called in old, Geo, although I don’t think you’ll ever be old. Could you run for president, please? We don’t need a wall. We need Wednesdays off and more Uncle Eyeball stories.

      Like

Your turn...

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

