Apparently Giving the Dad in Your Life a Grill for Father’s Day is the Equivalent of Giving Your Mother a Vacuum. And Don’t Take Him To Your Favorite Restaurant Either.

Me:  littleb, what do you want to get Dad for Father’s Day.

littleb:  I don’t know. I have to think about it.

Me:  I was thinking maybe we could get him a new grill

littleb: Then he’ll think you want him to cook for us.

Me:  He’d be right.

littleb:  But that would be a present for you.

Me: I see your point.

littleb:  Maybe we could take him out to eat.

Me:  Sure.  Where do you want to take him.

littleb:  Longhorn Steak House

Me:  Why there?

littleb:  Because it’s my favorite restaurant.

Me:  But that would be a present for you.

littleb:  Oh yeah.This is harder than it seems.

Me: I still think we should get him a grill.

littleb:  We’re not getting him a grill, Chicken.

Happy Father’s Day all you Dads.  Hope you didn’t get a grill.  Unless you wanted one.

 

 

  5 comments for “Apparently Giving the Dad in Your Life a Grill for Father’s Day is the Equivalent of Giving Your Mother a Vacuum. And Don’t Take Him To Your Favorite Restaurant Either.

  1. jenny_o
    June 20, 2016 at 1:28 am

    But what happens when your husband DOES get you a vacuum for a gift-giving occasion? Aren’t you allowed to retaliate?? Or you can do what I did, which is – ask if he’d mind if you took it back, and then forget to get something to replace it. (In fairness, it was a handheld carpet shampooer, because he saw me scrubbing cat barf so many times with a bucket and ten thousand cloths to soak up all the water. But still. It sounds better if I don’t tell people that.) (I only took it back to the store because I was having problems with my wrist and thought it was too heavy for me to use pain-free.) (Can this explanation get any more tedious??)

    You are right, Chicken. Find out what dad wants, and get THAT. Sounds so easy, right?

    Like

    • June 20, 2016 at 10:33 am

      I think that maybe for every household tool you try to pass off as a tool, you must also take over the job duties involving the use of said tool, in order for the tool to be a true gift. Which would have meant I would do all the grilling which I’m okay with until it gets cold out again. Which is a good four months or so away, so really, genius idea on my part, I though, but I have littleb to answer to. Littleb of the Longhorn littleb’s. Now, if you husband had given you the handheld and then cleaned up all the cat vomit, that would have been a really nice gift, right?

      Like

  2. Doug in Oakland
    June 20, 2016 at 5:10 am

    I think my mom used to go fishing with my dad on father’s day. I think I remember going out to eat at the Sizzler one father’s day and not being able to get in because it was so busy. But most father’s days we just kind of chilled out at the house because it fell on one of the first weekends of the summer phase of my dad’s job wherein he left Monday morning and returned Friday evening. Later on he got used to it again and would go on fishing trips a lot, but right at the start he was kind of trashed when he got home.

    Like

    • June 20, 2016 at 10:39 am

      Hi Doug-fishing sounds like a sweet tradition. Did just your mom and dad go? Or did you all go? I don’t remember my folks making a big deal out of Fathers/Mother’s Day. Us kids probably made cards and didn’t ask for money, and my father probably grilled his favorite meal, barbecue steak. Now he would have appreciated a new grill. What we ended up getting BigB was a framed photo of he and littleb in front of the house his Mom grew up in and his grandfather built back in the day. He’s a sucker for a sentimental gift. Then we got dressed up “kinda fancy”, per littleb’s orders, and went to lunch.

      Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        June 20, 2016 at 6:43 pm

        My sister and I went until we were old enough to stay home by ourselves. I used to go sometimes anyway for the chance to swim in the Klamath river, which was their favorite fishing place. They had a special boat with a jet unit on it to go there, it would work in very shallow water and they kept it docked at a marina in the river all summer long.

        Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

