Today My Blog is 301 Posts Old

Yesterday, I realized that I have published 300 posts.  That seems like a landmark moment to me, although if you compare it to the number of years this blog has existed, it’s a humble number.

The Chicken’s Consigliere began as a blogspot in the fall of 2009.  At the time, blogging was pretty mainstream with new people coming aboard every day. It was even getting to be a cliche. I wasn’t trying to get famous with my blog. I just like to write and wanted to join the fun.

I wrote the most posts in 2010, developed a modest following and what seemed like real friendships.  My folks passed away a few months apart in late 2010 and all my words kind of dried up and the blogging became a chore.  I tried to stay with it, posting when I felt a glimmer of my old self, but couldn’t sustain any consistency. I think 2012 was the lowest posting year.

I bounced back a bit in 2013 and 2014 although many of the bloggers I used to follow had stopped blogging by then or had moved into new circles of friends.  I reached out and found new bloggers that I connected with and those are the ones I read to this day, although I still miss some of the old ones.

These days, I keep things light with the blog. It’s a hobby-maybe the only one I’ve ever maintained for this long a stretch. It’s a journal of sorts. When I’m in a blogging stretch, I enjoy the writing.  When I’m not, I enjoy reading other blogs and my own old posts. I also enjoy reading old comments-some of the conversations that take place in the comments are funnier than the posts.

And so today, on the morning of my 301rst post, I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has ever visited, read, and commented. I appreciate it.  And those of you that also blog, I’ve enjoyed the worlds you create with your words.  Now let’s have cake. Imaginary cake. That goes without saying.  It’s the best kind of cake, anyways, because it comes in your favorite flavour, is delicious, and calorie-free.

Chicken out

  7 comments for “Today My Blog is 301 Posts Old

  1. jenny_o
    June 20, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    Congratulations, Chicken! I’m glad you keep coming back to write here. I always enjoy what you have to say. And I’m glad to hear someone else likes to read her own old posts. Although mine are still babies, not old. Ahem.

    Anyway – here’s to writing, and friendship, and cake! And might I suggest a drink with the cake; after all, there are no calories in imaginary beverages either 🙂

    Like

    • June 21, 2016 at 11:16 am

      Why not? A little imaginary wine never hurt anyone, right? Going back and reading old posts is like visiting an old friend.I’m glad I have them. You will be, too, when your baby posts are all grown up.

      Like

  2. jenny_o
    June 20, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    P. S. You get mentioned and linked in my post today, fyi.

    Like

  3. Doug in Oakland
    June 20, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    I think it was 2013 when I found you, I think in a link in a comment at the Bloggess’ place? Could that be right? I found some of my favorite bloggers that way: Michelle from Rubber Shoes in Hell, Megan from Fisticuffs and Shenanigans, Aussa from Hacker, Ninja, Hooker, Spy, you, of course, and now through you, Jenny O from Procrastinating Donkey. There are others, and together, y’all make my days much better, so thank you for hanging in there. A lot of bloggers have seemingly dropped out of the blogosphere in the last year or two, so maybe I need to step up pretty soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 21, 2016 at 11:20 am

      Hi Doug-that sounds right. I’ve found some of my favorites via the Bloggess, too. Talk about someone who has been around awhile! Thank you for finding me. I’ve enjoyed our conversations. You are a very cerebral commenter. Also can’t wait to read your blog-I know you’ll have an interesting one. Some of your comments are like mini-blog posts all in themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

    • jenny_o
      June 21, 2016 at 4:48 pm

      Doug – I’m looking forward to your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

