Now What?

BigB called to me from the yard about a month ago and said, “I’m trimming the lavender, do you want me to save it?”, and I’m thinking to myself, “I didn’t know we have lavender.  Wow.  We’re people who harvest lavender!”.  So I said to BigB, “Yes, let’s save it”, but inside my head where things get ahead of themselves (get it?), I’m already planning next year’s harvest and how I’ll press oils and make soap and extracts and lavender pillows and then I’ll travel around to craft fairs selling my wares until I’ve saved up enough to open a small store front in a little seaside village, and tourists will come in and visit me and my cat and I’ll sell them stuff.  Maybe I’ll even advertise our spare room on Air B&B so that millennials can visit, for a fair price, and experience the thrill of a a lavender harvest for themselves. And I’ll wear long flowy skirts, lavender colored, and wispy scarves. I’ll let my hair go white. I’ll meet the other villagers at the local diner where tourists don’t really go, and we’ll eat grilled cheese sandwiches and talk small town politics in Yankee accents.

But until then, does anyone have any idea what I’m supposed to do with this stuff?  It’s not as smelly as I thought it would be and it doesn’t look that pretty. Also, it occurred to me that you probably either have to press it for oil OR dry it out, but you probably can’t get oil from dried out lavender, am I right?

There’s always next year.

Chicken outimage

  8 comments for “Now What?

  1. jenny_o
    June 22, 2016 at 4:58 pm

    These thoughts are eerily familiar to me, Chicken – even down to the flowy skirt … and I don’t have a clue what to do with lavender either, except in a very broad sense, as in “I read about that once and now I don’t remember.” I dunno, can you crush it and stuff it in some little pillow things and put it in your scarf drawer (the one with all the wispy scarves)?? Either way it’s very cool that you have lavender you didn’t know you had.

    Like

    • June 22, 2016 at 7:08 pm

      I’m not surprised, Jenny-we might share some brain matter somehow in some existential way we don’t understand and don’t have the capacity to truly research. At least I don’t. You might be totally capable. I bought some lavender from a farm in Maine last time I was there and made some little lavender pillows and they are in my drawer. My wispy scarf drawer. Because I buy them, I just don’t wear them.

      Like

      • jenny_o
        June 23, 2016 at 1:26 am

        Hah! I have a drawer like that, too, and wear them just as often. I think from your comment to Doug below that you know more about lavender than you might have led us to believe 🙂 What a wonderful enterprise your friend is operating there.

        Like

      • June 23, 2016 at 11:55 am

        Nope. I don’t know anything about except that I like it. But I do have access to a pro, so there’s that, right?

        Like

  2. Doug in Oakland
    June 22, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    I don’t know a damn thing about lavender except that it caused a massive traffic jam in rural Sonoma county last weekend…

    http://www.pressdemocrat.com/news/5760012-181/viral-post-for-kenwood-lavender

    Like

    • June 22, 2016 at 7:06 pm

      Holy Lavender Batman! I’ll remember that next year when my next supply of lavender comes in. Note to self. Only invite FB friends, not friends of friends and general public. My friend, Syd, has a farm in Salinas, CA called “Seven Cats Farm” and she grows lavender and all kinds of things. Makes soap. She knits scarves. She looks great in flowy skirts. Maybe she’ll read this and come to my rescue. She even blogs. Here’s her website if you want to check it out. She’s awesome: http://sevencatsfarm.com/

      Like

    • jenny_o
      June 23, 2016 at 1:27 am

      Doug, that is awesome 🙂 Unless you were in the traffic jam, in which case I take it back.

      Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        June 23, 2016 at 3:36 am

        No, I wasn’t in it, it was just the first thing that popped up when I Googled lavender to try to have anything to say about it… The last time I was up that way was November when my friend Sara took me to see The Joy Formidable at a winery up there.

        Like

Your turn...

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

