A Chicken, a Hot Dog, and an Oaky Chardonnay Walk Into a Radio Station….

I started, around mid-day, thinking about a glass of wine, as I tend to do on a typical Friday. An  oaky, buttery Chardonnay is my favorite. Add a side of reality television and a bag of chips and that’s a big Friday night. A reality smorgasbord of housewives, fixer uppers and restaurants you’d hesitate to enter; salt and vinegar or maybe barbecue, preferably a thin cut, but never the newest flavor of Lays. Cappuchino Chips? As in potato  chips? Really? It’s not right.

But the day got busy and I didn’t have a chance to take in a filling lunch.  My culinary visions grew stronger than my wine visions.  Mexican? Italian…a nice risotto? No, definitely Mexican. Chipotle? With a Corona and lime?

The day grew longer still. A favor for a colleague and then meeting littleb at a birthday party. I planned to stop on the way home for some take-out and wine, but sometimes you just want to be home, and because I’m not as young as I used to be, I long for the comfort of stretch cotton. Screw the Mexican. Who needs wine? Yoga pants-that’s the ticket.

They say you can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you get what you need.  I’d have to agree, assuming what I need is a grilled hot dog in a toasted bun topped with some sweet onion, plain yellow mustard and organic ketchup, served with a side of leftover potato salad.  I’m sure that’s what the Rolling Stones were talking about.

And sometimes, magically, what you need turns out to be exactly what you wanted and not at all a compromise. It’s nice when it turns out that way.

What do you need?

This is Delilah…..

Screeeechhhh. Wait. No. This is not Delilah. I got carried away. I had a Delilah moment. I was getting all smooth and soothing in my mind, handing out advice paired with the oldies. Sorry.  And if you don’t know who Delilah is, you might not be old enough to read this blog  or maybe you are just too cool for this school.  I’m glad you’re here, don’t get me wrong. You’re just not my demographic.  Hey.  Maybe I am just what you needed today.  Way to keep it positive, Chicken.  You go in your yoga pants.

Chicken out

image

 

 

  9 comments for “A Chicken, a Hot Dog, and an Oaky Chardonnay Walk Into a Radio Station….

  1. jenny_o
    July 9, 2016 at 2:55 am

    Oh, those days that turn out to have far more than twenty-four hours in them … and none of them are for relaxing … stretchy pants are the only necessity after a day like that.

    Although perhaps you need to become familiar with the stash concept when you’re talking salt and vinegar chips, Chicken. A high shelf, behind something your husband wouldn’t dream of moving. Emergency stash of S&V chips. Eat them in the bathroom if you have to.

    Who is Delilah? I’m not young OR cool, and I want to know. Fill me in.

    Like

    • July 9, 2016 at 12:23 pm

      Hi Jenny, Maybe Delilah hasn’t made it in Cancada like she has in the US. Delilah is a radio host who tells people’s stories, does dedications, and matches old songs with her stories. I think she’s usually on at night. You can check her out at iheartradio.com or Delilah.com. I couldn’t find any audio of her, though, and that’s what I wanted you to hear. And yes, maybe I need a stash, although my kids are like heat seeking missles. They can sniff out food a mile away.

      Like

  2. Doug in Oakland
    July 9, 2016 at 5:13 am

    Delilah the girl on the radio, or Samson’s Delilah from the Bible? Wait, I think I know which one. We distributed Kettle chips (and a few other brands like Terra , Garden of Eatin and Mexi-Snax) at the warehouse where In used to work, so I’m always surprised when I see the new flavors they come out with. Yeah, I know most of those other chips are tortilla chips, but even being Irish, that doesn’t seem to matter to me. Your hotdog looks good to me. I just finished cooking dinner, Rice-a-Roni with chicken (sorry) and vegetables in it, and I’m just getting ready to try some right now…

    Like

    • July 9, 2016 at 12:26 pm

      HI Doug-yes, Radio Delilah. I’ve had Terra chips before. I wouldn’t put them in the same territory as lovely, greasy Lays, but they are good if you are trying to not eat Lays. If you’ve had too many Lays. Rice-a-Roni-now that’s a classic that has the potential of becoming just what you wanted. I hope it was good.

      Like

  3. July 9, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    The end of some days comes too slowly and a stretch on the sofa with your favorite crumb producing snack and a cat to absorb the evidence is a must.

    Like

    • July 9, 2016 at 2:13 pm

      Hi Joanne-I wish I had a cat. Someone in my house is very allergic so I have to make do with a warm blanket.

      Like

  4. July 9, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    I got your Delilah right away. So funny! Your dinner looks delish. I hope there was some vodka or tequila in your iced glass with the lemon wedge.

    Like

    • July 9, 2016 at 2:52 pm

      Hi Paulette. You totally get me. There WAS vodka in that iced glass. An organic Meyer Lemon flavoured vodka by Crop. It’s kind of ironic that I insist on organic ketchup and vodka to go with my sulfite-loaded hot dog, but the path of the Chicken, it has many forks.

      Like

      • July 9, 2016 at 8:00 pm

        I had a nitrite-infused (but all beef!) hot dog with organic black bean chili on it two days ago. I totally get it. Now I want some Meyer lemon vodka…or just vodka will do; I’ve got a fridge full of lemons.

        Like

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

