This Disappearing Act is Getting So Old!

Hi World,

I haven’t disappeared.

You know how you experience things and you can’t wait to share them-whether on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, or in person, even (now there’s a novel idea), but then it doesn’t happen?  That happens to me. I don’t know why. Sometimes I can’t wait to tell you about something but I postpone and then the words don’t come.

We’ve rented the same place in Maine for the last few years. It’s a pretty Victorian house on a little cove in an area we visited often when I was young. The sun rises every morning between the trees on the horizon of the cove. When the tide is out, we can walk a half mile out to the peninsula where the starfish live. Often, the moon is full or nearly so, and we watch it from the deck. Last year we discovered that what we thought was a flower garden was probably a fire pit, and we had a new element to add to our evenings. Our families come and visit. At least once, we get dressed up and visit the resort up the street for dinner. We’ve built memories here.

This year’s Maine vacation was needed. It was dreamed about. It was held up as the pinnacle of our summer-something to look forward to. When it finally arrived, every day was cherished. I woke up that Monday morning filled with so much gratitude for life, the moment, my childhood and family. I wish that I could hold on to that moment forever.

Then I ate some bad oysters on Monday night and got sick but that’s OK! I’m better now!  And that feeling of waking up full of gratitude is a memory that will stick around for a long time, while those bad oysters are gone forever. Finally. It did take awhile.

I’m back at work and it feels like I never left, until I close my eyes and go back in time a week or so.  Where is your happy place?

image

The beginning

 

image

The cousins

 

image

The middle

 

image

The mermaid

image

The grand entrance

 

 

 

  17 comments for “This Disappearing Act is Getting So Old!

  1. Doug in Oakland
    September 1, 2016 at 2:11 am

    Sorry about the oysters, I’ve never really trusted them anyway, though when my father made oyster soup I would eat it. Your description of anticipation for your vacation reminds me a lot of how I feel about rock concerts, which are totally my happy place. I have been heard to say that the worst day at a rock concert is still usually better than the best day anywhere else. I don’t quite believe that any more, but I’ll have to say that the last one I went to, and the only one since my stroke in 2008, was so good that it reminded me of why I have attended so many. It had that “wow, I’m really here and that is so awesome” feel to it the whole time. And remembering it did help carry me through the ugliness that set in starting the next day, so it was good for my mental health to boot. Sort of a mini-vacation, if you will, as it was out of town at a winery in Sonoma.
    Anyhow, it’s good hearing from you again, and I hope you’re feeling better now that the bad oysters are receding into the past.

    Like

    • September 6, 2016 at 1:02 am

      Hi Doug-I remember you talking about that concert! I hope you get to many more. Sometimes, when it happens when you need it most, a walk around the block or an hour in a bookstore can seem like a mini-vacation!

      Like

  2. jenny_o
    September 1, 2016 at 2:37 am

    That sounds like heaven. I like anyplace with water and trees, and if it’s got sand, so much the better 🙂 So I’d be right at home in your happy place.

    But Chicken, I have to tell you, that was really poor planning to get sick on vacation. You’re supposed to get sick when you’re working so you can get a day off! I hope it was over quickly, although it sounds like that might not have been the case.

    Like

    • September 6, 2016 at 1:04 am

      Yes, Jenny, you are absolutely right. Really bad planning on my part and it will not happen again! I hope. But still, I was sick in my happy place, so it wasn’t so bad:-)

      Like

  3. September 1, 2016 at 12:20 pm

    Look at all the happy children. I hope they will cherish family forever.

    Like

    • September 6, 2016 at 1:05 am

      Hi Joanne-it’s the first time my oldest and granddaughter were able to join us so it was extra special this year. I hope they will, too.

      Like

  4. September 4, 2016 at 10:48 pm

    Looks great. My happy is place is pretty much everywhere but if I have to chose, I will more frequently than not say Jasper, Alberta.

    Like

  5. September 4, 2016 at 10:48 pm

    Oops, *choose.*

    Like

  6. September 7, 2016 at 2:12 am

    Sounds and looks wonderful. Haven’t been to Maine in decades, but remember a magical time in Booth Bay Harbor many years ago. Enjoy.
    Mike

    Like

    • September 8, 2016 at 3:21 pm

      Thanks Mike-it was. Booth Bay Harbor is wonderful, too-very different then your neck of the woods, I imagine. I’ve never been to Montana but hope to one day.

      Like

  7. September 16, 2016 at 5:27 am

    The expression on Mermaid’s face says it all –a calm, happy post.

    Like

  8. October 6, 2016 at 3:14 pm

    I know exactly how you feel about needing that vacation. We go to a resort up north here in MN. We golf and fish and eat, and eat and eat. It is heavenly and I begin to think about it in February and just long for it. It is the same place I went as a child and I am so thrilled to bring my own family. Although, I am still trying to work off the pounds from all of the eating, so I kinda wish I had my own oyster incident 😉

    Like

    • October 13, 2016 at 11:29 pm

      GND-like many things, the idea is appealing while the reality is less so. But I know what you mean. What resort do you go to? We’ve only been going to this particular place for a few years, but it is “home” for me, and I’m happy I can share it, too. Then it gets to a stage where every year you hold your breath because what if your partner wants to go somewhere else? Try something different? Nooooooooo! So far, I’ve been lucky.

      Like

  9. Kate
    October 7, 2016 at 9:41 pm

    Love that little mermaid of yours!
    It’s good to see you and read your words again, Chicken! Hope you’re doing well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • October 14, 2016 at 12:04 am

      Kate Kate Kate! I’m very excited. How are you? Your kids-they must be both in college now? Are you still running? Are you still blogging? I will go check. We are doing well. The little mermaid is my grand daughter….granddaughter? Grand Daughter?….McKenna…or Mac for short.

      Like

Your turn...

Patrick Tillett

One chicken. So many roads.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

The Blog Broad

A Diary of a Mad Woman, the Fumblings of a Fool

Momentum of Jo

Spirituality, Reality, & Everything In Between

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

