Maybe Bob Died

Chicken: I smell oil. Does the oil burner need to be cleaned?

BigB: Yes, it’s overdue. I called Bob the oil cleaner guy twice but he hasn’t gotten back to me.

Chicken:  Do you think he died?

BigB: Possibly? (smiles quizzically).  I need to call around and…

Chicken:  Maybe he’s the only one who knows how. And now he’s dead.

BigB: …see if I can find another guy but in the mean…..

Chicken:  (interrupts)…And before he died he never passed on his oil burner cleaning secrets so we’re stuck. He had a son and he tried to teach his son but all that kid wanted to do was play guitar in some dive in Providence.

BigB: *crickets*

Chicken: And now that his father has died he has regrets, but he still doesn’t want to run the business so they just closed it, but he did write a song about it. It’s called the Oil Burner Blues.

BigB: Are you d….

Chicken: It’s been well received in the dive bar. He’s going to audition for The Voice. Everyone thinks he has a good chance.

BigB: ….

Chicken:  Now I’m done.

BigB: Good. Maybe you could try and find a new oil burner cleaning guy today. If you have time.

Chicken:  Wouldn’t it be cool if his name was Bob?

It’s the little moments that keep a marriage interesting.

Chicken out

 

 

 

  22 comments for “Maybe Bob Died

  1. jenny_o
    December 16, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Hahahahaha!! I can see it clearly 🙂 How’s it going, Chickie? Glad to see you surface now and then.

    Like

    • December 16, 2016 at 10:43 pm

      Hi Jenny,
      It is going. Dragged myself away from Twitter for a minute:-) Needed a break from theTrump-o-rama.

      Like

  2. December 16, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    Better late than never, I suppose. Never had oil heat. So who will call first? Bob?

    Like

    • December 16, 2016 at 10:41 pm

      Well, it won’t be new Bob because I forgot to call him. I was busy and stuff. Mostly stuff.

      Like

  3. Doug in Oakland
    December 16, 2016 at 9:18 pm

    OK, May Bob the oil burner guy be alive, happy and competent as ever, and may his son receive a magic Les Paul which catapults him to virtuosity and fame and riches beyond his wildest dreams!

    Liked by 1 person

    • December 16, 2016 at 10:41 pm

      Doug, you totally get me. Although I would give Bob Jr. a Takamine because Bruce.

      Like

  4. jenny_o
    December 17, 2016 at 12:22 am

    By the way, is Bob yer uncle?? People are always saying that, and I want to figure out why.

    Like

    • December 17, 2016 at 12:31 pm

      I did have an Uncle Bob. Sadly, he died.

      Like

      • jenny_o
        December 17, 2016 at 6:07 pm

        Ack – I’m sorry!

        Like

      • December 17, 2016 at 9:33 pm

        It was a long long time ago. Is Bob yer Uncle?

        Like

  5. jenny_o
    December 18, 2016 at 1:58 am

    No – no Bobs in either of my parents’ families. And you’d think there would have been – there were eleven kids in my dad’s family and five in my mom’s family. Nary a Bob. I’ve never actually considered this topic before, but there were a great many of what I’d consider unusual names on both sides. Going off to think about this now …

    Like

  6. December 19, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    *snorting coffee out my nose* It takes a special genius to find such humor in the ordinary moments and then share it. Merry Christmas, Chicken. 🙂

    Like

  7. December 20, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    This was hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kate
    December 21, 2016 at 2:03 am

    sounds like conversations between my own husband and me.
    except they usually wind up sounding like an Abbot & Costello routine. ; )

    Like

  9. December 21, 2016 at 6:18 pm

    Bob’s MY uncle. Though he doesn’t fix oil burners or sing the blues in a dive bar. Be cool if he did, though. Sadly, these days, he can’t remember what he had for breakfast. But he seems happy enough.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

  10. December 24, 2016 at 2:55 am

    We have moments like that – I’ve gotten the “Are you done” thing, too!

    Like

Your turn...

Style Splash

40+ FASHION AND BEAUTY BLOG

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

