The BFC

This morning I participated in a fun little meditation exercise. At least, I think I did, or maybe I dreamed that I did. Either way, I expanded until I was taller than the tallest tree on my street and walked my neighborhood. Nothing to see here, folks, just a Big Friendly Chicken out for a stroll, taking in the sights. It was an interesting perspective and I highly recommend you all try it. Unfortunately, it’s hard to maintain giant status for more than five minutes, so I was quickly back down to size, but maybe, with a little practice, I’ll get better.

Speaking of neighborhoods, last night, as I walked mine, in regular chicken size, I noticed all the naked little Christmas trees left out on sidewalks for garbage pick-up. Usually, mine would be there, too, because usually, by New Year’s Day, I can’t wait to get the decorations off the tree, pack up the lights, and drag it outside, dead needles falling everywhere, to the curb. Then I clean the floors, sweep the house for any forgotten decorations, and move jubilantly into the new year.

This year, as usual, we took off the ornaments and packed up all the decorations but the tree and lights are still standing. I couldn’t bring myself to finish the job. I’m not sure why. I think it might be a reluctance to move forward in this year in the current political environment. I’ve never felt insecure about our government before. I’ve never felt reluctant to move forward.

What is coming unnerves me. I think of all the people I know who rely on certain government programs, of the immigrants I share our diverse state with, of the equality and freedom to express myself that I’ve taken for granted my entire life, of the public school system, and of national security. The responsibility for all of this is being handed over to a wealthy old buffoon with a mean streak and, if by some lucky chance, we wrestle control from him, the second in line is a homophobic Christian fundamentalist. There’s no way around it…the next four (or more) years will involve change. In my opinion, it’s unlikely to be change for the better.

We may all need to consciously expand-to be a little bigger, a little louder, a little braver, a little more stalwart or, at times, a little more resistant. Happy new year.

Chicken out

  20 comments for “The BFC

  1. January 3, 2017 at 4:55 pm

    I think we’re all preaching BFC’s, in one way or another. We will overcome. They may be blown away by a wave of sound. Carry on.

    Like

  2. January 3, 2017 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks Joann-maybe a wave of resistant patriotism isn’t a bad thing. Wait a second-didn’t the tea party say that? Oy.

    Like

  3. January 3, 2017 at 5:56 pm

    I took the ornaments off the tree a few days after Christmas but left the lights and star on it until after New Year’s. But it’s now on the curb, waiting to be recycled into mulch.

    Like

  4. jenny_o
    January 3, 2017 at 7:29 pm

    What’s a BFC? I tried to Google it, but there were a thousand explanations, and Google kept wanting to give me sites for “BFG” instead!

    Like

    • January 3, 2017 at 8:47 pm

      Big Friendly Chicken? As opposed to Big Friendly Giant (Chicken) haha. Guess I wasn’t very clear.

      Like

      • jenny_o
        January 4, 2017 at 2:40 am

        Oh crikey, I just re-read your post and saw the info right up there near the top – missed it in two previous readings … anyway, now I can comment properly 🙂 What I wanted to say is that it may be safer to have Mr. Red in charge because with him, what you see is what you get. Mr. Slimy, on the other hand, is used to covering up his real self and I’m afraid we would never know what he was going to do next. Better the devil you know that the one you don’t …? Not sure that’s at all comforting, though. I do like the mental image of a towering chicken out for a stroll; puts me in mind of Big Bird from Sesame Street. We need more Big Birds.

        Like

      • January 4, 2017 at 1:30 pm

        Hi Jenny-based on your first comment, I went back and did some capitalization work-that’s probably why it was more obvious when you read it later. I think you are right about Mr. Red and Mr. Slimy. Of course, I’m convinced that Mr. Slimy and his other slimy friends are busily plotting Mr. Red’s demise, but we’ll see what happens. I love the idea of Big Bird Chickens, too. And all those big eggs wouldn’t suck either.

        Like

  5. Doug in Oakland
    January 3, 2017 at 7:44 pm

    Yeah, it’s gonna be a wild ride. If we just remember to try and take care of each other, we can probably ride it out.
    Here’s to the Giant Chicken Promenade!

    Like

    • January 3, 2017 at 8:49 pm

      Giant Chicken Promenade. I love that. I see all kinds of giant beautiful chickens strutting their stuff down main street USA.

      Like

  6. January 4, 2017 at 1:15 am

    Well, I’m naturally sort of a giant, at 6’3″, but also sort of a chicken. I would love to join the promenade.

    Interestingly, I chose the subject of “change” as my daily meditation for the next 10 days, for the reasons you describe with your tree metaphor. May we all do what we need to do for ourselves and others.

    Like

    • January 4, 2017 at 1:25 pm

      Hi Paulette, You can lead the promenade! I like the idea of choosing a a subject for daily meditation. I meditate without intent. I will follow your example and get my change on. Thank you.

      Like

  7. January 6, 2017 at 5:47 am

    Watching from Canada, trying to be hopeful, always willing to listen.

    Like

  8. January 11, 2017 at 11:01 am

    What scraps of dignity our country retains after the coming administration will be due to what prior administrations did right. I too am insecure about our government now. Not our finest hour, eh? Great post and excellent reflections.

    Like

    • January 11, 2017 at 6:28 pm

      Hi Geo, no, not our finest hour. He goes low, we stay high, I guess. Thanks.

      Like

  9. January 16, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    We are on the same page her, You absolutely worded it much better than I could have. Love this post! The meditation process is much harder than I would have imagined, which is probably why when we can finally reach that level it’s so beneficial. I’ve been practicing the “White Egg.” Where you visualize your self inside a very bright white egg. G-uno

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

