Whaddaya Know, It’s Poetry Wednesday! Or Groundhog Day. You choose.

I want you to know, JennyO, I hesitated before using that exclamation mark in the title. But then I thought, what the hell. It’s Wednesday. Let’s shake things up.

Thanks to everyone who commented on the Billy Collins video/poem I shared on Monday. Doug from Oakland directed me to Taylor Mali and I loved his work so much that I wanted to share one more poem. Thanks, Doug, for introducing me to another smart, funny, wordsmith.

Who is your favorite poet? What’s your favorite poem? Do you write poetry?  Did you?

Chicken out

  24 comments for “Whaddaya Know, It’s Poetry Wednesday! Or Groundhog Day. You choose.

  1. March 8, 2017 at 3:16 pm

    I love it! “…inviting you to join me on the bandwagon of my own uncertainty?…” had me laughing out loud.

    I transcribe for a living, for what one would think are some very smart people…insurance reps, financial advisors, attorneys, corporate bigwigs. If I had a dollar for every “sort of” and “kind of” and every sentence that begins with “So,” I would be retired by now. I mean, we all say those things, and in the proper context, they’re useful. But if you’re going to discuss something with your CPA, you’re not going to “sort of” discuss it or “kind of” think about it. If you have an accident, you don’t “kind of” lose control and crash into the concrete barrier. But hey, they pay me by the word, so I log ALL the words, even if they’re superfluous and/or ridiculous.

    Thanks for the laugh today. I love poetry, and yes, I have written some. Haven’t we all?

    Like

    • March 8, 2017 at 3:50 pm

      Paulette-do tell? We might need a sample. I used to be a medical transcriptionist. That was a fun job. I miss it someimes. My daughter once told me “So I might be kind of pregnant?”.

      Like

  2. jenny_o
    March 8, 2017 at 5:30 pm

    I’m going through exclamation mark withdrawal, so I don’t mind a bit if you use ALL THE !!!’s

    This guy is good – as is the one you linked to. So many talented people out there …

    My favourite poet, overall, is Ogden Nash. He was funny and clever and could be serious, too. And prolific! When I found an entire volume of his poetry I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.

    It’s hard to pick a favourite poem. But one which comes to mind – because I’ve been thinking of my own old age quite a lot recently – is:

    Senescence begins
    And middle age ends
    The day your descendants
    Outnumber your friends.

    How about you, Chicken? Your answers, please 🙂

    Like

    • jenny_o
      March 8, 2017 at 5:31 pm

      Ack – I used an exclamation mark and didn’t even realize it! (There, that one was on purpose)

      Like

    • March 8, 2017 at 8:38 pm

      You know, I’m not sure I have a favorite poet. One of my favorites ever is the one my friend, GG, wrote and that I published here called, “Let Twilight Fall” (I think). Another one that has been meaningful to me for a long time is Robert Frost’s, “Bond and Free”
      Love has earth to which she clings
      With hills and circling arms about-
      Wall within wall to shut fear out.
      But Thought has need of no such things,
      For Thought has a pair of dauntless wings.

      On snow and sand and turn, I see
      Where Love has left a printed trace
      With straining in the world’s embrace.
      And such is Love and glad to be
      But Thought has shaken his ankles free.

      Thought cleaves the interstellar gloom
      And sits in Sirius’ disc all night,
      Till day makes him retrace his flight
      With smell of burning on every plume,
      Back past the sun to an earthly room.

      His gains in heaven are what they are.
      Yet some say Love by being thrall
      And simply staying possesses all
      In several beauty that Thought fares far
      To find fused in another star.

      Like

      • jenny_o
        March 9, 2017 at 1:20 am

        That is beautiful … I will have to read it a few more times to gain some understanding beyond its beauty.

        Do you know, until a couple of years ago, I thought if I didn’t understand something on the first read then it was over my head and inaccessible. Then I read a respected author’s statement that she had to read difficult things over and over until she understood them, and I realized I could do it that way, too. I wish I had realized it years ago.

        Thanks for sharing this with us, Chickie.

        Like

      • March 9, 2017 at 12:52 pm

        Hi Jenny-was it Einstein that said it’s not that he’s so smart but that he sticks with things longer? Maybe that’s the secret. I know people who lead very simple lives. They aren’t that intellectually curious, always, but they love fiercely and they are glue in their families and communities. I think intellectual pursuits can sometimes be isolating. For me, the poem is a reminder that, in the end, love has a better return on investment.

        Like

      • May 11, 2017 at 1:18 pm

        Hi Jenny-sorry I’ve been MIA. I’ve just been so busy with littleb’s sports and work. Saw this today, though and thought of you and Geo: http://mailchi.mp/ted/ngovb8pih1?e=20a7ab850c

        Like

  3. Doug in Oakland
    March 8, 2017 at 8:04 pm

    Thank you for the heads up about the inauguration poem. I hope you don’t mind these embedding here, because the last one did, but here’s another one I think you will enjoy:

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 8, 2017 at 8:43 pm

      Ohhhhh-I get it. i check my comments from a file that only shows a link. Now I see the embedded part. Thanks Doug:-)

      Like

  4. Bella Rum
    March 9, 2017 at 5:23 pm

    Loved it. It made me smile, and I couldn’t help but hear the truth of it. I wrote poetry when I was a kid. It was pretty saccharine, but I thought it was fabulous. I was wrong. 🙂

    Like

    • March 9, 2017 at 6:13 pm

      Ha. Me, too. Mine were accompanied by huge Disney-like murals of gypsies and princesses

      Like

  5. March 10, 2017 at 10:40 pm

    The most aggressively inarticulate generation to come along since, you know, a long time ago.

    I’ve been railing against the decline of spoken language for some time. I suspect that makes me just old.

    Like

    • March 12, 2017 at 1:01 pm

      Hi SAW. I think I know what you mean. Why do you think that is?

      Like

      • March 13, 2017 at 11:47 pm

        I don’t know. Has texting changed things? Or maybe a move toward technology and away from literature and the arts?

        Like

      • March 14, 2017 at 12:58 pm

        Technology/Texting-yes. Hard to see what’s/who’s around us when we’re staring at our phones. I’m guilty of it.

        Like

  6. March 23, 2017 at 3:37 am

    I met this guy a few years ago. Terrific speaker and person! I love lots of poets: Margaret Atwood, Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, bp nichol, William Carlos Williams, T.S. Eliot, Mary Oliver and many more but my absolute favourite is ee cummings.

    Like

    • March 23, 2017 at 5:00 pm

      Hi DB-do you “know” Jenny from Procrastinating Donkey? She is a big ee cummings fan also.

      Like

  7. Anonymous
    April 29, 2017 at 4:09 am

    Enjoyed this post very much, “Who is your favorite poet?” Good question. I have many favorites, but this being National Poetry Month (April) I wrote about 2 of my favorites, Emily Dickinson and Masaoka Shiki at “Trainride Of The Enigmas”.

    Like

  8. April 29, 2017 at 4:17 am

    Enjoyed this post very much. “Who is your favorite poet?” I have many favorites, but this being National Poetry Month (April) I wrote about 2 of them, Emily Dickinson and Masaoka Shiki at “Trainride Of The Enigmas”.

    Like

    • May 4, 2017 at 2:37 pm

      Hi Geo, I love Emily, too. One of my favorites starts, “If you were coming in the fall I’d brush the summer by” and it ends, “if certain when this life was through that yours and mine might be, I’d toss it yonder like a rind and taste eternity.” I was not introduced to Masaoka Shiki until I read your blog post.

      Like

    • May 11, 2017 at 1:17 pm

      Hi Geo-came across this today and thought of you (in case you haven’t already seen it) http://mailchi.mp/ted/ngovb8pih1?e=20a7ab850c

      Like

      • May 14, 2017 at 1:37 am

        Thank you, Chicken, for alerting me to this excellent address on Decima poetic form, born in Persian brothels to become part of our world’s art. Especially impressed by Jorje Drexler’s observation, “We’re all from nownere and we’re all from everywhere.”

        Like

Your turn...

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

