I’m Still Here…

Wouldn’t that be a great name for a ghost story? Yikes.

I’ve been a bit of a ghost myself.  A blog ghost. Not a scary one, never scary. Just a shadow of a comment you might notice from the corner of your blog, a white misty chicken racing across your page. I’m still here, even if I haven’t commented or written anything of my own in quite awhile. I slipped off the blogger grid again. Apparently, I fell onto the Twitter grid because that’s where I find myself spending most of my discretionary time. It’s not nearly as satisfying or healthy but still I feel compelled to check in often. Twitter is the Wonderland rabbit hole of our time with its own array of fantastical creatures, our POTUS among them. History is being made on Twitter. It’s ludicrous and kind of sad (#SAD) and yet I can’t seem to look away. This is my first step back to the sanity of  using more than 140 characters and a link to express one’s opinion,  I hope.

That’s it. I just wanted to say hello and if I haven’t already, I’ll be around to catch up with everyone.

Chicken out

 

 

  19 comments for “I’m Still Here…

  1. Bella Rum
    May 21, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    We’re obsessed around here, too. My husband screams at the television occasionally. Well, truth be told, we take turns. It’s so frustrating, but always interesting. Glad you’re back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 22, 2017 at 1:32 pm

      Thanks Bella Rum. These are interesting times, indeed. Anxiety-ridden but at least I am aware and paying attention, which was never my way. It’s probably a good thing.

      Like

  2. Doug in Oakland
    May 21, 2017 at 6:16 pm

    Yay! The Chicken posted again! I’m not on twitter, but I read it sometimes, mostly because a couple of my very favorite bloggers only post there these days. One calls himself Princess Sparkle Pony, and I have been reading him for about a decade, and I still link to posts on his blog in comments I leave because it’s that good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 22, 2017 at 1:30 pm

      Hi Doug, I’m not sure I’ve read Princess Sparkle Pony but I’m going to start because that is an awesome blog name.

      Like

      • Doug in Oakland
        May 22, 2017 at 7:43 pm

        He works at the National Gallery of Art in DC, and hasn’t posted to his blog since July of 2015, so the only way I have of reading him is his twitter feed. I think he’s hilarious.

        Like

  3. jenny_o
    May 21, 2017 at 7:11 pm

    I’m with Doug – Yay! for a Chicken post! How’re things with you? Has your spring sprung yet? Has your grass riz? Do you wonder where dem boidies iz? I hope all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 22, 2017 at 1:29 pm

      Thanks Jenny. Everything is good. I have a new grandson, that’s what’s up with me. Baby and mom doing well.

      Like

      • jenny_o
        May 23, 2017 at 3:15 am

        Whoa … that is BIG news! I’m glad they are doing well. Are you a Grandma, Grammy, Granny, or ??

        Like

      • May 23, 2017 at 2:36 pm

        Hi Jenny-depends, I guess, on what this one decides to name me, but to my granddaughter I am Grammy or Grandma depending. Still can’t believe she’s talking to me when she says it:-)

        Like

  4. May 21, 2017 at 10:26 pm

    Welcome back! I’ve never done much with Twitter. I would imagine that a complex world can’t be intelligently discussed in 140 characters, but I shouldn’t knock it until I’ve tried it. And it’s true that “less is more” when it comes to writing, at least at the sentence level.

    Thank you for your input on my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. May 24, 2017 at 11:38 pm

    I have looked at a few people’s twitter feeds and it’s a medium that just leaves me cold. Facebook I like well enough but really try to limit my time on it. I really do like the richness of blogs.

    Like

    • June 5, 2017 at 7:30 pm

      Hi SAW. I used to feel the same-it wasn’t substantial enough to hold my attention. Now that I have politics as a focus and a few people I enjoy following, it makes more sense. Their links lead me to news resources I might have missed otherwise. I like Facebook for staying up to date on family members and friends that live in other states. I love the richness of your blog, in particular:-)

      Like

  6. May 31, 2017 at 4:02 am

    Did my previous comment not come through? I share your feelings about Twitter and love to hear your complete thoughts. Hope this comment reaches you.

    Like

    • June 5, 2017 at 7:24 pm

      HI Geo-I’m not sure. The comment on Decima poetic form came through. Sorry if I missed one. I love hearing all your complete thoughts also-even if they are over my head, which they sometimes are because you are a smart guy, they give me something to reach for.

      Like

      • June 24, 2017 at 2:43 am

        Let’s reach together. Please advise.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Geo.
        September 4, 2017 at 7:26 am

        Do I sense finality here? Thank you for all the encouraging comments you’ve given me in past years. I appreciate your keen perceptions, compassion and wit. Best of luck to you. I shall miss you dreadfully.

        Like

      • September 19, 2017 at 1:41 pm

        Hi Geo, I’m still here, thank you for checking in on me. Sometimes I take breaks but I will be back to visit you soon! XO

        Like

Your turn...

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Wishbone Soup Cures Everything

One chicken. So many roads.

Style Splash

STYLE HAS NO AGE LIMIT

Bella Rum

Life on the Pasture

I'm Sick and So Are You

What illness taught me about how truly warped we all are

http://myinnerchick.com/

One chicken. So many roads.

The Way I Sew It

One chicken. So many roads.

B.I. Redux

One chicken. So many roads.

Cup on the Bus

One chicken. So many roads.

idioglossia: the blog

Share yourself: problems, joys, secrets, ideas. We're listening.

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

Think Stew

One chicken. So many roads.

Procrastinating Donkey

One chicken. So many roads.

Trainride Of The Enigmas

One chicken. So many roads.

Genial Misanthrope

One chicken. So many roads.

injaynesworld

One chicken. So many roads.

The AC is On

One chicken. So many roads.

La Tejana

One chicken. So many roads.

Pearl, Why You Little...

One chicken. So many roads.

